Board of Trustees:

Isidro Ortiz is a professor in the Department of Chicana and Chicano Studies at San Diego State University.

Marian Aste retired in 2015 and was an adjunct faculty member in the Bilingual Credential program at the College of Education, San Diego State University, California.

David Morales helped form the Education Not Arms Coalition as a high school junior. As a graduate student he attended the Stanford University Teacher Education Program and is now teaching high school Spanish.

Nancy Cruz became an activist while attending Mission Bay High School and helped organize the successful campaign to remove JROTC shooting ranges from San Diego City Schools. She currently is a UAW labor organizer representing UCSD post-graduate students.

Ana Yeli Ruiz is a racial and social justice advocate working in the City of Chicago on decarceration measures. She grew up in Illinois joined the Marine Corps and was subsequently stationed in San Diego, CA. Upon completing her 4 yrs of service, she went on to earn a B.A. in Sociology from the University of San Diego, worked as a youth organizer, and went on to earn her master's in public policy from UC Riverside.

Manuel Enriquez is the first in his family to graduate from a four-year university. He attended San Diego State University where he earned bachelor’s degrees in Chicana/o Studies and Sociology, and minored in French. He is active in local social justice organizations.

Paula Hoffman-Villanueva is a retired adult education teacher who taught English language learners.

Rick Jahnkow officially retired in 2019 as Project YANO Program Coordinator after 35 years. He now sits on the board that he helped developed the concept of the organization in 1984. 

Itzel Martinez was an activist at her high school and helped win approval of a recruiting policy in San Diego Unified. She graduated from Mesa Community College, and recently graduated from UC Davis.

Armando Perez retired 2 years ago from the Army Reserves after being deployed several times to Afghanistan. He is now a local school teacher.  

Rodrigo de la Rosa is a former Project YANO youth intern and San Diego State University graduate.

Miriam Clark is a retired teacher and probation officer.

Program Coordinator:

Cassandra "Cassie" Hernandez | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Emeritus Program Coordinator:

Monique Sandoval served as the Program coordinator from 2019-2022.  Monique is a community activist who has dedicated most of her young adulthood fighting for racial equity and social justices for communities of color like her own. She has taken part in countless actions with different grassroot organizations fighting for systemic changes.
Rocio Cordova (they/them) served as the Program coordinator from 2018-2019. As a San Diego native they previously worked for 10 years in non-profit and education sector. Having worked directly in communities of youth of color, Rocio understands the predatory recruiting tactics that the military continue to use. 
Rick Jahnkow officially retired in 2019 as Project YANO Program Coordinator after 35 years. He now sits on the board that he helped developed the concept of the organization in 1984. `    

Community Advisory Board:

Amanda Jordan-Starks 
Jesus Mendez-Carbajal
Ernie McCray
Carol Jahnkow
Fernando Suárez del Solar
Cecilia Ubilla
Kathy Smith
Luis Villanueva
Dan Paris
Mirna Cruz
Lorraine Demi
Kathy Gilberd
Mike Hall
Jim Hornsby
Jorge Mariscal
John Mortimer
Jesús Nieto
Juan Perez
Kathia Romo

Youth Intern:

Position currently closed


Volunteer with Project YANO

Bookmark and Share

© 2022 Project on Youth and Non-military Opportunities (YANO). All rights reserved | With support from A.J. Muste Memorial Institute, the  and the individual contributions of community members | Site Support from